Welcome to the ElePass Support

What are Client Permissions?

Client Permissions are the top-level permissions that you will assign to your teams and users for each individual client in your ElePass account. A user must be given permission to either View, or Edit, a client before accessing the client’s credentials.

Client permissions are broken down into the following options:

  • View – A user/team with View access will be able to see and access the client. By default, they will only be able to open the Client’s landing page and no credentials will be given to them. Further access will be need to be granted at the Group level.
  • Edit – A user/team with Edit access will have full access to the client and will have similiar permissions to a Client Manager for the specific client. This user will be able to:
    • Create/View/Delete/Update/Share all credentials for this client.
    • Create/Update/Delete groups for this client.
    • Change permissions for all of the groups.
  • Admin/Client Manager  – These roles are pre-populated for each client based on the company role assigned to each user. By default, these users will have the following permissions:
    • Same base level permissions for those with the Edit permission.
    • Access the Settings page and change the client name, logo, and delete the client.
    • Add/remove client permissions for all users/teams.

Why do we need Client Permissions?

Client Permissions are used to reduce the noise and to provide an additional layer of privacy/security for your company. As you work with freelancers and contractors, it can be important to keep your high-profile clients secret and away from the eyes of others. This feature also removes that client from all drop-downs and search options to reduce the noise as your employees routinely use ElePass.

What other features utilize Client Permissions?

All client permissions are handled at the specific client level, can be assigned at a team or an individual user level, and affect the following features:

  • Adding and updating groups
  • Full access to all of the credentials
  • Manage group permissions
  • Assign group permissions

Last Modified: October 4, 2018